Access hidden services email server icedove through Qubes/Whonix

I can reach an email account that I can only reach via hidden services (nnnnnnnnnnn.onion) via tor browser on anon-whonix AppVM and read/write email. I then added icedove to my MailVM. I created a few regular email accounts (abc123@testing.com) and they work as expected. Added icedove to Anon-whonix VM and did the same. Works. But when I add a hidden services email server on the icedove in Anon-Whonix VM, I get connected, and no folders are created except inbox. No emails are downloaded either. No errors indicated.
WHONIX docs in the section on Hidden services talks about server webserver setup. All I want to do is use icedove as a client to reach the server.
TorBirdy is enabled and shows (Whonix) There is also a (Use Tor Router) option. Same result.

What am I doing wrong? I am new to this from Thunderbird on Windows 10. Latest TAILS. icedove works by the way for accessing .onion email servers with icedove from TAILS. But I will like to use Qubes/Whonix from now on if possible.

Thanks for listening.

Did you install yourself or are you using pre-installed icedove+enigmail+torbirdy?

Are you watching the Activity Manager? (launch using Icedove Menu)

From what you said:

1. Tor Browser in anon-whonix works. You have Tor connectivity.
  2. Non-onion email accounts work in Icedove on anon-whonix. Icedove + TorBirdy works.
  3. Onion email accounts work in Icedove on Tails. Accounts work.
  4. Same onion accounts do not work on anon-whonix.

Icedove should work out-of-the-box on anon-whonix. I would focus on email account specific settings. Compare Menu > Account Settings > Server Settings between working onion account on Tails vs Whonix. Some servers do not enable TLS over onions since it’s encrypted already.

1 Like

You got my description right. Thanks
I did not install icedove or Tor, whonix or torbirdy myself.