We need a separate general-purpose browser for Workstation in new realities

Hi. I’ve been using Whonix for many years and I’ve found your solution as the best privacy and anonymity tool on market.

To cut a long story short, I think we need an additional, general-purpose browser on a Workstation. Why do I think so? I hope for your understanding. It is not just my will, it is a reality.

It is becoming more and more difficult to use a pure Tor scheme (ISP -> Tor -> website) in order to browse the Internet anonymously. The main problem is not in Tor Project or Whonix. The key problem is in destination websites we want to visit. More and more websites nowadays are fighting against freedom of speech and block visits from Tor exit nodes IPs. Some sites’ administrators just blacklist Tor exit nodes IPs so it is impossible to visit a website at all. Some of websites accept visits from Tor exit nodes IPs, but make impossible to complete an account registration through Tor. Many global social networks and even small sites don’t allow users to sign up through Tor exit nodes IPs and immediately suspend a newly created account from Tor because of ‘suspicious activity’.

So, in a new era of the Internet reality, the usage of Tor is very limited. I’d like to say that you can only browse the Internet with Tor in a ‘read-only’ mode nowadays because many websites don’t allow account registrations through Tor.

The reason is that all Tor exit nodes IPs are public and immediately go to websites blacklists.

The only way to bypass Tor exit node bans from destination websites is to combine Tor with other tunnels such as VPN or proxy using a ISP -> Tor -> VPN/proxy -> website scheme. From my practice, many sites’ administrators don’t block VPN/proxy IPs as aggressively as they block Tor exit nodes IPs. VPN IPs are being blocked nowadays too, but proxy IPs are not being blocked as often as VPN/Tor exit nodes IPs.