VPN testing link outdated? Riseup compromise?

Hello I am new to whonix and have been reading the documentation page to the best of my ability as I am also new to Linux. My question pertains to the following link:

How old are these instructions?? I had heard from a trusted source that there riseup email was compromised. I had a riseup account and one day logged in to find that all my emails had been deleted and figured that it must have been indeed compromised. I was totally unaware that riseup even offered a VPN until I read the above link. My question is does this test still work??

My second question is assuming I am using an open VPN that “claims” to not keep logs and takes anonymous payments via btc or giftcards so the only required info is an email that is only used for the purpose of this VPN this VPN is not riseup obviously. Every time I log into the VPN on my host which is Ubuntu I check for DNS leaks by going to ipleak sites which check for VPN DNS leaks and verify that the VPN is not leaking. Once that is verified then begin the gateway and workstation and begin browsing. Using that protocol my intention is to keep my ISP from learning of my tor usage and secondly to offer a second means of protection should tor my tor connection become deanonymized for any reason. Is this a safe way of using a VPN with whonix use?? Is there anyway I can further test the effectiveness of my set up in a similar way as the link above? Or is it pretty safe based on your knowledge. I seriously feel that that link is outdated as it even mentions securitykiss which I have heard along with Hidemyass keep logs and are definitely not safe VPNs to use. Sorry if my question is confusing.

Instructions are old. No one is setting there and keep checking every week if those are still working. If they not work, then they just not work. Nothing going to blow up.