TransPort test showing IP

Let me start by saying that i’m new to both qubes and whonix, but really like the concept. So if this question is self explanatory, please forgive me :slight_smile:

I finally got whonix set up using the guide from Qubes-Whonix ™ Overview but whonixcheck in the workstation gives and error on the TransPort test: Looks like you are not connected through tor. I do see in the known bugs section that transPort does not work with the qubes-whonix setup, but it also displays my real IP address.
This got me a little worried. Is the workstation supposed to see this IP at all, or should I just ignore it?
btw check.torproject.org and DNS leaks tests show that I am connected through Tor.

Welcome peter! :smiley:

That sounds pretty strange for the real IP showing in Whonix-Workstation.

I don’t have the old Dual-HVM version of Qubes + Whonix installed right now, so I will try it out soon.

But, I don’t remember ever encountering my real IP with the known TransPort error.

The Whonix-Workstation should NOT be able to see your real IP address.

And it is strange that it is also able to access Tor and check out ok at check.torproject.org.

Sounds like some kind of networking misconfiguration.

Generally, I guess troubleshooting would involve retracing the guide’s steps and checking your network configurations.

Especially:

1. Attach eth1 Network Adapter to Whonix-Gateway
    1. Modify IP of eth0 Network Adapter on Whonix-Workstation
    1. Deny Unnecessary Network Access
    1. Open FirewallVM Between Whonix-Gateway and Whonix-Workstation
    1. Configure eth0 Network Adapter on Whonix-Gateway

And ensure you are starting the VMs each time in the terminal with the custom “qvm-start” comannd explained here…

Are you using the binary install guide or source code install guide? I assume the binary one?

“Install in Qubes HVM with Whonix Binary Images”

[hr]

FYI: