Tor exit node attacks how to protect yourself?

Again I am new to both Whonix and Linux, I tried installing a btc multibit client and abandoned it as it required Java to work and I just didn’t like the interface. My question is pertaining to tor exit node attacks. Since I have been introduced to btc I have been using the clearnet for btc transactions mainly because I had heard so many horror stories about people getting their coins stolen while conducting btc transactions on tor. They say that 99% of all malware and viruses are written for Windows and Mac and there are very few viruses for Linux. If I were to start conducting btc transactions on tor using whonix is there anything I can do protect myself from exit node attacks?
From the reading I have done it seems that majority of exit node attacks are after btc. Being so new to all this I feel that while tor/whonix grants anonymity you are also in the same world with some of the best hackers/crackers with no virus protection. Is there anything I can do particularly when it comes to btc to increase security and safety while conducting btc transactions on whonix?

Good day,