tor browser downloader install fail

Hi folks. I recently installed whonix gateway and workstation, no problems there. Tor diwnloaded during gateway installation but everytime I attempt to install to workstation it’s failing about halfway through stating it’s possibly a network issue or or something.

I’ve tried for 10 days solid now, and I’m due to volley my computer out the window. I’m newbie status and don’t know how to fix this, can anyone help me please?

I’m wet behind the ears with this kind of stuff so please explain as you would do to a 5 year old lol.

Whonix 12? Virtualbox images?

Not sure what that means. Gateway connected to Tor successfully? What does Whonixcheck say? (Type whonixcheck in a Terminal or use icon in app menu)

Sorry, I’m a newbie and learning the ropes.

Yes I have virtualbox installed with both whonix gateway and workstation installed.

I typed whonixcheck into gateway konsole and got the following info

I typed whonixcheck into workstation konsole and got following info

When I try to run tor in workstation it tells me I don’t have it installed, I then attempt to install it through the tor browser downloader.

I get to around halfway

And then get this message

Any ideas what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks for the details!

Looks like you’re doing everything right. Normally, I would just say to try again but if you’ve been trying for 10 days, not so sure. Do you have a very slow connection? When the Tor Browser Updater first launches, which version are you picking to download? I was able to successfully install 5.5.2, which is probably what you should be using.

It’s possible to download and set it up manually but doing it properly requires a lengthy walkthrough.

Your situation is not related to the other thread (not yet anyway).

• Tor is the network that routes your traffic. Tor Browser is the web browser designed to use Tor. Tor Browser Bundle is Tor + Tor Browser.