Hello. So, although I have been using Whonix on Virtualbox for a little over a year now, I should still be considered a beginner user, because I really only use it in a simple way without messing around with any settings or advanced features.
Unfortunately, recently I have been experiencing issues with Tor connection, which of course means the workstation is not getting internet. So, what I did was install Whonix on a new device, and I found out Whonix is now the Lxqt version, and I was using the older Xfce version on my main device. Anyway, on my other device the new Whonix is connecting and working perfectly. However, on my main device it is still having troubles, although it works for a few seconds at a time and is still able to load pages.
So, my main problem is that I have a signed-in app on my Whonix workstation which is preventing me from just reinstalling a new version of Whonix, because the app is only signed-in on Whonix and can’t be accessed without that exact session. Although it may be possible to just swap the gateway, my plan was to get the login code when the Tor connection is up, then once I have my accounts safe on another device, I can try reinstalling. Because of course I don’t want to make anything worse trying to fix the connection like I already did.
So, the really bad thing is while I was trying to fix it, I decided to open the app from the main menu list called “All Applications” which I have never used to open the app before because I always used my desktop shortcut to open it. I’m not sure why but what happened is that it opened the app as if it was just installed and it is showing me the sign-in page like it’s a brand new app and not remembering my session. The very problematic thing is that opening it from that menu seems to have messed with the shortcut pathway. Meaning, that now the desktop shortcut I always clicked to open it is now also opening the app like it is a brand new session and not remembering my sign-in accounts and data.
(Very Important Note) - At one point I believe I duplicated this specific app which is a potential cause for this. Also, the app is actually displaying twice on the “All Applications” list, but both versions are now both opening the brand new session version without my signed-in account and data. However, the good thing is that I never signed-out of this app and all the data is still there, and I am praying this is an easy fix.
I would truly appreciate help resolving this, and please explain steps as if I am a very beginner user. Thank you.