Qubes vs Gnome OS for whonix?

Hello thanks in advance for your patience and help with me and my questions. I am very new to Linux less than a week and apparently I installed GNOME and then installed VM and whonix. Then after further reading I found that Qubes 3.0 seems to be the optimal OS to run whonix with. How big of a security issue is this?? Running whonix on GNOME instead of Qubes? I in order to run Qubes I would have to install the new OS then reinstall VM and whonix?? Any help would be appreciated? I apologize for my frequent questions.

Also like to add that apparently Qubes is only for quadcores so I don’t even have the hardware to run it, I just was wondering how big an issue it is running whonix on an OS other than Qubes as far as security?

I don’t know if you need quad core. Qubes hardware requirements are best found out using the native Qubes documentation and Qubes support channels.

Saying “running Whonix on GNOME” makes limited sense in this context. It’s mainly about the operating system that hosts Whonix. Such as Debian, Fedora, Qubes, etc.

GNOME is on the level of the desktop environment. You can combine Debian with either GNOME and/or KDE and so forth.

It’s big.

Good day,

if I may add my two cents here, Qubes should be far more efficient than using VirtualBox, as per design, it builds, as a type two Hypervisor, much more directly on your existing hardware. To do this, Qubes uses Xen, which, aside from KVM, is considered to be one of the least “power consuming” ways to virtualize something. I’ll try to find some time and maybe create a wiki page which explains this in depth.

Have a nice day,

Ego

Ego and Patrick thank you for all you do. Your kindness, patience and time dedication is most definitely donation worthy.