Poor performance

I’m new to Linux and of course KVM and Whonix. I’m not sure what to expect for performance. I have a lot of lag when watching videos over 480p (choppy) and most importantly, with common tasks. Just clicking on buttons and using scroll bars causes quite a bit of lag in the browser and in apps. I’m not trying to watch 4k vids but I would think 720 should be doable.

I realize Tor dramatically decreases bandwidth but I have zero issues with the Tor browser on Windows bare metal boxes and even with VMs in VMWare Workstation on a Windows host.

I’m guessing this is a hardware acceleration/pass-through issue. I have installed Debian-KVM-Whonix on an old machine and a newer, more powerful machine and they both perform the same. I’m using the Virtio driver with 3D Acceleration checked in Virtual Machine Manager.

I came across a couple of forum posts but some of the included links are dead and I see in the Wiki that hardware acceleration may not be achievable in Debian and could be a security risk??? I’d even consider switching to Qubes-Whonix if it performs better but I’ve read conflicting info on that subject.

Can someone point me in the right direction? I also need to know if having a GPU card is mandatory or if the on-board VGA is acceptable on newer or even older boxes. Ideally, I’d like to use one of my older boxes (HP 8300, Dell 7010) but I am considering purchasing a newer HP or Dell Tiny or micro PC for the final Debian-KVM-Whonix install but of course I would not be able to add a GPU. Specs are i7-9700T, 16GB RAM, SSD.

Thats mean not yet supported thus shouldnt be enabled.

More performance according to KVM wiki:

I dont know what are your hardware parts/specs that you are currently now using, But know that since whonix run inside a VM it need medium to high resources in order to make it work properly.