Not sure how to proceed with Whonix 13

First off I am no expert in this area, just trying to learn as I go along.

Originally I was trying to update using the instructions on

But I kept having issues with the meta packages not being installed so I decided to do a fresh install of the Workstation and Gateway templates.

I made backups of the two TemplateVMs and pointed the other AppVMs to the newly created templates.

Removed both whonix-ws and whonix-gw templates with

$ sudo yum remove qubes-template-whonix-gw
$ sudo yum remove qubes-template-whonix-ws

Reinstalled using

$ sudo qubes-dom0-update --enablerepo=qubes-templates-community
qubes-template-whonix-gw
$ sudo qubes-dom0-update --enablerepo=qubes-templates-community
qubes-template-whonix-ws

Then redirected the AppVMs to the newly reinstalled target TemplateVM.

After running whonixcheck in sys-whonix, it says that I need to update my ā€˜whonix-gwā€™ TemplateVM (Iā€™d assume that the workstation template will also need to be updated).

I thought that since I did a fresh install, I would not need to run any updates that might potentially give the Whonix meta packages warning.

My question is this, why does it still say I need updates if I installed the latest templates already?

P.S. I donā€™t know if it is relevant, but tor was not connecting after I reinstalled the TemplateVMs. I researched and found this snippet that did the trick.
$ sudo chown --recursive debian-tor:debian-tor /var/lib/tor

By ā€œbackupsā€, do you mean clones? I think itā€™s a good idea to use your clones as your TemplateVMs. In other words, stop right after this step. If you need the original templates in the future, you can always re-install them (as you did). I prefer this method to setting aside the clones and using re-installed templates, because when Whonix14 is released, youā€™ll be able to keep your existing templates, and install fresh Whonix14 templates without disrupting your workflow.