KVM Networking Broken

I installed Whonix-Gateway on a new installation of KVM (on Debian wheezy) on which I already had created a Debian VM that was working without any problems. I’m using the graphical manager with terminal sessions when necessary and this is my first time using KVM.

For the installation of the Whonix-Gateway VM I followed the instructions at: Whonix ™ for KVM

Now both VMs (the existing VM and the new Whonix-Gateway) fail to start and instead give the following error:

Error starting domain: Requested operation is not valid: network 'default' is not active

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/asyncjob.py", line 45, in cb_wrapper
    callback(asyncjob, *args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/asyncjob.py", line 66, in tmpcb
    callback(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/domain.py", line 1114, in startup
    self._backend.create()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 866, in create
    if ret == -1: raise libvirtError ('virDomainCreate() failed', dom=self)
libvirtError: Requested operation is not valid: network 'default' is not active

Under preferences, virtual networks, there are two entries: “default” and “Whonix.” When I select “Whonix” its properties say, “unknown data type.”

Can anyone suggest a way to proceed?

According to the error message the “default” NAT network that’s setup in KVM by default is switched off. Nothing to do with Whonix directly. Please switch it on, using the the virtual machine manager GUI and try again.

Hi HulaHoop,

yes, I worked that out eventually and I did indeed got past that error by turning default on at the command line.

However, now I have a new error as well as an old one:

I totally reinstalled Debian wheezy, to have a known starting point. I then installed KVM using the exact steps listed at Whonix ™ for KVM including checking the versions of the installed KVM packages.