gpg verification on the windows platform

I am new to Whonix and gpgwin4 so I need some help I am going to tackle one issue at a time as needed.

My first issue is getting the secure version of gpgwin4, following whonix’s referred instructions here

https://lists.torproject.org/pipermail/tor-talk/2013-August/029256.html

I imported the certificate and downloaded the most recent version however the program won’t install even though it says it has.

Remove and re-download? or is this broken?

I am on windows 10, help is greatly appreciated!

One issue at a time is great. Please also use descriptive, concise forum subjects.

Please ask the gpg4win developers since gpg4win is not maintained by Whonix and since this is not an issue caused by Whonix. Let us know how that went.

I understand, however I am also not sure how to use the command line on gpg4win as given in you instructions here

using this code: cd [the directory in which you downloaded the .ova and the .asc]

again I am on windows 10 so any help understanding this would be great! Thank you for your time

Excuse me for starting a discussion of principles rather than answering your question. I am wondering this is worth the trouble to bother with verification of if not a hash check should be sufficient on the Windows platform. Allow me to explain…

The threat model in mind here is “always verify software signatures”. See:

Whonix ™ and Tor Limitations

Not a Whonix specific thing. General security advice. If you skipped that once for any software you ever installed, under that threat model you are under a very high risk. Only going the secure way for installing Whonix has very little gain in security.

In other words, did yo verify all programs you installed on Windows? I.e. perhaps firefox, chrome, vlc, office, whatever you might be using.

See also our chapter on Windows hosts, why I wonder if verification on the Windows platform is worth the trouble.
Computer Security Education - Whonix