Enabling Wifi within the Safer OS Guide.

Hi Folks…

So have made my way through the ‘A Beginner Friendly Comprehensive Guide to Installing and Using a Safer Anonymous Operating System’, all setup and running fine.

Whilst following the guide, i stayed with the advice of running ethernet connection only, however after installing kali, i require the use of a wireless adapter now. My build in adapter wouldnt suffice, and so i purchased a USB Adapter, a TP Link AC1200 which is linux compatible, and has the necessary chipset required for use within Kali.

Now i made an assumption (uh oh), that before i began attempting to install the device for use with Kali i convinced myself i would have to setup the adapter on Debian first…was i correct to assume this is my host OS?

I have gathered info from the web to attempt to do this by myself, and i have tried the following…and please bear in mind i am new to Linux/Whonix…

1. ran lsusb, my wifi adapter was listed as:
    Bus 001 Device 005: ID 2357:0101

ran lspci and my device wasn’t listed.

1. Tried adding driver from repository at github.com/abperiasamy/rtl8812au
    But i get a 404 not found error from the site.

2. ran apt-get update && apt-get install firmware-iwlwifi

Installed.

Now the truth be told, ive tried an untold many other ‘suggestions’ listed on Google, and im beginning to wonder if i’ve done more harm than good?

Should i wipe clean and start the guide OS guide all over? I’ve learned a lot and am pretty confident i can get through it without error and to solve all the problems i encountered the 5th time round (lol)

Also, is there anything within the whonix setup that perhaps doesn’t allow for wifi connection? or is it merely lack of knowledge/experience within linux?

Thanks

Good day,

So, am I correct in the assumption that you are using Kali as a Whonix-Workstation? Then yes, to pass through WLAN to the gateway, it first needs to work on the host.