Chaining JonDo + Whonix (TOR over JonDo)

Hi everyone!

I would like to build a chain consisting of a VPN, TOR and JonDo looking like this:

user → VPN → Jondo → TOR → remote server

I am using Whonix and I installed the VPN on the host. Like this:

user (Whonix Workstation) → TOR (Whonix Gateway) → VPN (on the host) → remote server

As a note: I began learning Linux (as well as Whonix) some month ago, have been reading into this a lot for weeks now, and while I indeed managed to get some deeper knowledge of what this is all about, I still feel like a total noob when it comes to setting up and configuring advanced setups like this one.

Alright, so here comes the problem: The JonDo part!

I tried to set up a JonDoBox with help of the instructions here HowTo use JonDo like a transparent proxy → failed (this is beyond my skills)

What I did next worked out fine, however I am not aware of how this effects security of Whonix itself.

I installed the JonDo client on the Whonix Gateway. I then modified the torrc file, adding “HTTPSProxy 127.0.0.1:4001” to it. Finally I configured Whonix Gateway’s firewall to allow non-TOR connections for the user “user” (ALLOW_GATEWAY_USER_USER=1), resulting in TOR connecting over JonDo first.

I guess this is a dangerous way of setting this whole thing up, isn’t it? On the other hand, the documentation states that torifying the gateway would not be mandatory which makes me assume that this maybe be safe though. I think the unsafe part is granting free access to the user, right? I would really appreciate if anyone could comment on this.

I also tried to start JonDo client as user “clearnet” which resulted in some error (user clearnet not allowed to start JonDo process).

Please can anyone help me setting up this properly? Not much information about it on the net.

Thank you very much!

Greetz,
idontknow

Hi again!