Accidently Sent BCH Cash to BTC Wallet

Hi,
I have no idea if this is the correct place to ask this. Basically my problem is I sent Bit Coin Cash to a BTC Wallet. The user gave me his BTC wallet address and I had a bitcoin wallet (That had both BTC and BCH in it) and sent him bitcoin cash to his BTC wallet. I wasn’t aware this could even be done but apparently it can. It’s my understanding that he can recover it basically by creating a BCH wallet with the same address I guess but correct me if I’m wrong. His question is can he use the BCH wallet with whonix? I guess this would be so he could maintain his anonymity. I apologize as I don’t know a lot about cryptocurrency. The user just wants to maintain his privacy and I just want to either get my BCH cash back so I can send him BTC or make it so he can recover the BCH and maintain his privacy. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I’m a noob that clearly didn’t know what I was doing. Please help!

Let’s clear the confusion.
If you sent BTC then the transaction is on the BTC blockchain.
If you sent BCH then it’s on the BCH blockchain.
It is correct both coins use same type of address and so errors like that can occur.
To solve it, the receiver needs to import the private keys to the other coin.
For example, if you actually sent BTC and he only has a BCH wallet, he needs to create a BTC wallet with the private keys of the BCH wallet. He can’t just have the balance move from one coin to another, that won’t happen.
He needs to create a wallet for the coin that fits the transaction that actually tok place.

And yes, he can work with both BTC and BCH wallets within Whonix.

2 Likes

@sheep Thank You Very Much For Clearing this up you made my whole week!