Upgraded vs new install - console differences

Hello,

I have an older VM install which has been in place release upgraded to 17 and is currently up to date. I recently installed another set of whonix VMs on the same host for other uses, via downloading the most recent images (17.1.3.1).

I immediately noticed some differences between these two. The recently installed version has colors in the console by default, and shows a change user option in the gui logout menu; there may be other differences in look or behavior I’ve not yet discovered.

Does this indicate some changes that are important to security or is this just some new default settings, or something else?

See:
Update vs Image Re-Installation

(Whonix is based on Kicksecure.)

Added just now:

Should a standard upgrade or in-place release upgrade not be possible, in other words should a complete re-installation ever be required for security critical reasons, a special announcement would be posted.