Installing PhpBB3 forum in Workstation

Hi everyone,

I am very new in Whonix and I’d like to say it’s a very good work.
By now I am testing with the version 7.
I have an Ubuntu host with the two VMs inside (Gateway+Workstation), I have activated the hidden service and installed a forum (PhpBB3).
everything is working, I have access to the forum in the Tor network.
My problem is that I cannot send emails from the Workstation. I have reconfigured exim in the Workstation but when I send an email from the forum or from the command line I have a “host lookup did not complete” message in the exim’s log.
I don’t know if this is the right place for this question… I have searched and I have found out that the problem is in the /etc/resolv.conf and I have to change the resolvers.
so my question is, what do I have to do to resolve the host lookup of exim? what are the risks of changing the nameservers in the resolv.conf (Gateway)?
can I put opendns for example? or is it something else I am doing wrong??

I will appreciate any answer to clear my problem…

thanks

Whonix 7 is no longer supported. Please use Whonix 8 instead. Your problem however is likely (not impossible) not related to Whonix 7 vs Whonix 8.

Since it’s very Whonix specific, it’s ok to ask here.

Don’t make change to Whonix-Gateway’s /etc/resolv.conf. It does not affect hidden services. It also does not affect how Whonix-Workstation is resolving DNS. (System DNS from Whonix-Workstation, i.e. /etc/resolv.conf are redirected to Tor’s DnsPort running on Whonix-Gateway. Socksified Whonix-Workstation such as XChat are using a Tor SocksPort running on Whonix-Gateway, which also supports resolving DNS.)

Experimenting with /etc/resolv.conf on Whonix-Workstation is safer than the above, though.

I can’t give you step by step instructions on how to solve this. But outline a few approaches. Let us know if you succeeded.